American Social History Project • Center for Media and Learning

Who We Are


ASHP Board of Directors

American Social History Productions, Inc. serves as our not-for-profit subsidiary and holds the copyright to all text, video, and multimedia materials produced by the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning. The officers and board members of ASHP, Inc. include:

  • Carol Groneman, Professor of History Emerita, John Jay College of Criminal Justice and The Graduate Center, CUNY (Chair)
  • Stephen Brier, Senior Academic Technology Officer; Professor, Ph.D. Program in Urban Education; Coordinator, Doctoral Certificate Program in Interactive Technology and Pedagogy CUNY Emeritus (President)
  • Andrea Ades Vásquez, Associate Director/New Media Lab Managing Director, ASHP/CML (Vice President)
  • Peter Mabli, Senior Consultant, American Institutes for Research (Secretary)
  • Donna Thompson Ray, Project Director, Faculty Development Programs, ASHP/CML (Co-Treasurer)
  • Pennee Bender, Associate Director/Multimedia Producer, ASHP/CML Emeritus (Co-Treasurer)
  • Joshua Brown, Executive Director Emeritus, ASHP/CML
  • Gerald Markowitz, Distinguished Professor of History, John Jay College of Criminal Justice and The Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Ellen Noonan, Director of the Archives and Public History Program, New York University
  • Wendy Wolf, Senior Editor, Viking Press
  • Peter Mabli, Project Director, Online Programs, ASHP/CML
  • Matthew K. Gold, Associate Professor of English and Digital Humanities, The Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Dominique Jean-Louis, Associate Curator of History Exhibitions, New-York Historical Society
  • Prithi Kanakamedala, Associate Professor of History, Bronx Community College CUNY

Advisory Board

In 1990, the American Social History Project became an official research center at The City University of New York. ASHP/CML has been affiliated with The Graduate Center, The City University’s doctorate-granting institution, since 1996. Our advisory board includes:

  • Sarah L. Burns, Ruth N. Halls Professor of Art History Emerita, Indiana University
  • Cynthia Copeland, Independent Public Historian
  • Melinda L. de Jesús, Associate Professor of Diversity Studies and Critical Studies, California College of the Arts
  • Vincent DiGirolamo, Assistant Professor of History, Baruch College, CUNY
  • Gregory Downs, Professor of History, University of California, Davis
  • Kate Fermoile, Director of Interpretation and Exhibitions, Brooklyn Botanic Garden
  • Eric Foner, DeWitt Clinton Professor of History Emeritus, Columbia University
  • Joshua B. Freeman, Distinguished Professor of History, Queens College and The Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Matthew K. Gold, Associate Professor of English and Digital Humanities, The Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Sarah M. Henry, Deputy Director and Chief Curator, The Museum of the City of New York
  • David Jaffee (1954-2017), Professor of History, Department of History, Bard Graduate Center
  • Cynthia Jones, Professor of English and Co-Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning, Hostos Community College, CUNY
  • Nancy A. Hewitt, Professor of History and Women's Studies Emerita, Rutgers University
  • Robin D. G. Kelley, Distinguished Professor of History & Gary B. Nash Endowed Chair in United States History, and Professor of African American Studies, University of California Los Angeles
  • William Kornblum, Professor of Sociology Emeritus, The Graduate Center, CUNY
  • David Nasaw, Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. Professor of History Emeritus, The Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Michael O’Malley, Professor of History, George Mason University
  • Brian Purnell, Geoffrey Canada Associate Professor of Africana Studies and History, Bowdoin College
  • Elena Razlogova, Associate Professor of History, Concordia University
  • Roy Rosenzweig (1950-2007), Professor of History, George Mason University
  • Martha A. Sandweiss, Professor of History, Princeton University
  • John Kuo Wei Tchen, Clement A. Price Chair of Public History & Humanities and Director of the Clement A. Price Institute on Ethnicity, Culture, & the Modern Experience, Rutgers Unviersty—Newark
  • Fritz Umbach, Assistant Professor of History, John Jay College, CUNY
  • Philip Weinberg, Deputy Chief Academic Officer for the Division of Teaching & Learning, NYC Department of Education
  • Craig Wilder, Barton L. Weller Professor of History, Massachusetts Institute of Technology