Who We Are


ASHP Board of Directors

American Social History Productions, Inc. serves as our not-for-profit subsidiary and holds the copyright to all text, video, and multimedia materials produced by the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning. The officers and board members of ASHP, Inc. include:

  • Ellen Noonan, Director of the Archives and Public History Program, New York University (chair)
  • Stephen Brier, Professor, Ph.D. Program in Urban Education, The Graduate Center, CUNY Emeritus (President)
  • Andrea Ades Vásquez, Associate Director/New Media Lab Managing Director, ASHP/CML (Vice President)
  • Peter Mabli, Senior Consultant, American Institutes for Research (Secretary)
  • Donna Thompson Ray, Project Director, Faculty Development Programs, ASHP/CML (Co-Treasurer)
  • Pennee Bender, Associate Director/Multimedia Producer, ASHP/CML Emeritus 
  • Joshua Brown, Executive Director Emeritus, ASHP/CML
  • Matthew K. Gold, Associate Professor of English and Digital Humanities, The Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Carol Groneman, Professor of History Emerita, John Jay College of Criminal Justice and The Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Dominique Jean-Louis, Chief Historian, Center for Brooklyn History
  • Prithi Kanakamedala, Associate Professor of History, Bronx Community College CUNY
  • Gerald Markowitz, Distinguished Professor of History, John Jay College of Criminal Justice and The Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Anne Valk, Executive Director, ASHP/CML, and Professor of History, The Graduate Center, CUNY